Thailand is naturally divided into four topographic regions:

- North

- Central Plain or Chao Phraya River Basin

- Northeast or the Korat Plateau

- South or Southern Isthmus

Northern Thailand
The North is a mountainous region characterized by natural forests, ridges and deep, narrow, alluvial valleys.

Chiang Mai is the major city of the North, it is also known as "Rose of the North". Chiang Mai is a popular tourist destination with both Thai and overseas visitors, who enjoy the city's slow pace of life. It has many ancient temples, and various cottage industries which are generally concentrated in villages on the city outskirts. Umbrellas, silverware, woodcarving and silk are just some of the best known products from Chiang Mai..